Accomplishments

We’ve all had this question posed to us while in an interview:”What’s your greatest accomplishment?” It’s really a lame question, and many of us can’t answer. Especially those of us suffering from depression and low self-esteem.  I started thinking about this question, and honestly could not come up with a big answer.  At one time, perhaps, it would have been that I was able travel the USA in a beat up 1983 jeep, or that I completed my Masters in Food, Hotel, and Tourism(in retrospect, not a great accomplishment at all). I had accomplished  those 20 years ago.  What of recently? That’s where I get stuck. The most I can say is that I was able to function for quite some time while battling depression. So many of us go about our day with a smile and wink while interacting with acquaintances or co-workers, but in the privacy of our own home , we show our true colors. As for me? I think I accomplished fooling myself.  I fooled myself that I was fooling others.  I’m too transparent.

Accomplishments. What a word. I keep thinking about this. Does it have to be a life changing circumstance? Right now, I don’t think so.  My life changing circumstance was completely the opposite.  But I can think about it in smaller increments. Like particle physics.  I accomplish something everyday.  Five months ago, it was getting out of bed. Three months ago, it was going to DSS and fighting for myself. Last month it was not having a panic attack while sitting in a waiting room. And what is today’s accomplishment? Writing today. That’s my accomplishment.pd_darkness_071029_ms

Published by: pspin2014

I'm one of the millions of people who battle depression each day. I've been experiencing depression for as long as I can remember. I want this blog to no only help me, but help someone else out there who struggles as I do

Categories depressionTagsLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

